County of Ventura

Beautiful Ventura County is one of 58 counties in the State of California.  Geographically, the county offers a stunning 42 miles of coastline and the Los Padres National Forest, which accounts for 46% of the county’s land mass in the northern portion of the county.  Fertile valleys in the southern half of the county make Ventura County a leading agricultural producer.  Together, farming and the Los Padres National Forest occupy half of the county’s 1.2 million acres.

A mild year-round climate, along with scenic geography makes the area attractive to the 850,000 culturally and ethnically diverse people who call Ventura County home.  The unincorporated areas, along with the ten incorporated cities of Camarillo, Fillmore, Moorpark, Ojai, Oxnard, Port Hueneme, Santa Paula, Simi Valley, Thousand Oaks, and San Buenaventura (Ventura) ranks Ventura as the 11th most populous county in the State.

Ventura County has a strong economic base that includes major industries such as biotechnology, agriculture, advanced technologies, oil production, military testing and development, and tourism.

The United States military, which includes two naval bases and the Air National Guard base, is the largest employer in the county with more than 16,000 employees.  The County of Ventura (government) is the next largest employer with nearly 8,000 employees located throughout the county.  Port Hueneme is California’s smallest but only deep water port between Los Angeles and San Francisco and plays a major role in the local economy.

Home to two universities (California State University Channel Islands and California Lutheran University), and three Community Colleges (Oxnard, Ventura, and Moorpark), multiple university extensions, institutes, and adult schools, the county enjoys a strong structure for workforce development.

The County of Ventura was formed January 1, 1873, when it separated from Santa Barbara County.  It is a general law county, governed by a five-member Board of Supervisors, elected at-large for a staggered four year term in their respective districts, and the chairmanship rotates annually.  The Board of Supervisors is responsible for providing policy direction, approving the County budget, and representing the County in a number of areas including special districts.  The Board actions can apply countywide or only in unincorporated areas.

Other County elected officials include the Auditor-Controller,  Assessor, Clerk/Recorder, District Attorney, Treasurer-Tax Collector, and Sheriff. The County Executive Officer advises, assists, and acts as an agent for the Board of Supervisors in all matters under the Board’s jurisdiction.

Under the guidance of the Board of Supervisors, the approved County annual budget of $1.8 billion serves to assist vulnerable adults and children, enforce the law, ensure justice, protect public health, and improve our quality of life.  In alignment with key focus areas established in the County Strategic Plan, services are provided to residents by nearly 8,000 dedicated public servants working in 23 different agencies, departments and special districts.